A new video of the Australian kidnapped in Zamboanga last year is in YouTube, giving hope that he is still alive. Warren Rodwell, 57, was kidnapped in december 2011 by armed men disguised as policemen who broke into his house in the town of  Ipil in Zamboanga del Sur.  In this video, Rodwell is wearing a black t-shirt and appeared shaven, but frail and holding a copy of the Philippine Daily Inquirer dated December 15, 2012.

“My name is Warren Richard Rodwell from Australia, today is Sunday, December 16, 2012 and this newspaper is Saturday, December 15, 2012. I have been held prisoner, kidnapped by Abu Sayyaf Muslim terrorist group for over one year, actually 54 weeks today. I was kidnapped on December 5, 2011. This video clip today is to say that I am alive. I am waiting to be released. I have no idea what’s going on outside. I am just kept, held prisoner in isolation,” Rodwell said in the video.

“Again, I am alive. It’s 378 days I think, something like that. This newspaper is from the Philippines. If any, honestly and if there is some negotiation I do not get any information and the people around me don’t normally speak English and I understand something is happening but I don’t know when. I do not expect to be released before the year 2013 at the earliest. I personally hold no hope at all for being release. I do not trust the Abu Sayyaf, I do not trust the Australian government. I just don’t trust anyone, personally, I don’t care,” he added.

The Philippines military is working to verify whether the video-clip is legitimate. Rodwell last appeared in an other video later in May.  In January, in another video,  sent to his Filipina wife Miraflor Gutang, Rodwell said that his captors were asking $2-million ransom.

Aside from Rodwell, kidnappers in the Sulu Sea, are said to be holding two European wildlife photographers— Ewold Horn, 52, from Holland and Lorenzo Vinciguerre, 47, from Switzerland — who were kidnapped earlier this year in Tawi-Tawi province. The Abu Sayyaf is  still holding a Japanese man, Toshio Ito, 66, kidnapped two years ago and three Filipinos in Sulu.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlQOIRKXx1o  The video

